Off The Record is independent live music / short film video blog. The site was launched in January 2011 when we posted online our first feature, Finnish indie rock favourite Magenta Skycode playing inside the old cable car in tram museum. Since Off The Record is our hobby, we publish new sessions randomly every now and then.

Bands are invited to play short, mainly acoustic Off The Record session in some unique place such as bowling alley, museum, sailing boat, gym, market place cafeteria, sauna, fan’s apartment…there’s unlimited amount of possible venues. The only limitation is that the place must be somehow unusual for a live performance. And yes, you guessed it right. We only invite bands or artists that we really like and respect. It doesn’t matter if they are playing indie rock, acoustic folk, experimental hip hop or even black metal.

The short concert (usually 1-3 songs) is captured in one single take with three cameras and portable audio studio. Everything is recorded live.

All members of Off The Record have been working for years in Finnish music scene. Our previous works include several award winning music videos, DVD’s, tv-commercials, photo shoots and artist promotion campaigns.

Off The Record Crew

  • Director: Otso Tiainen
  • Producer and PR: Johannes Kinnunen
  • Cinematographer: Marek Sabogal
  • Edit: Ykä Järvinen
  • Audio: Jukka Uitto / Auruaudio
  • Sound and vision: Jerry Ylkänen
  • Art Direction & Design: Tony Sjöman
  • Web: Mikko Kekki / Kalamuki
  • Adviser: Tomi Riionheimo / Indie Films

Artists performed in our sessions:

Aino Venna, Alcoholic Faith Mission, Andy Cairns, Anneke van Giersbergen, Antero Lindgren, Architecture in Helsinki, Arto Tuunela, Austin Lucas, Black Lizard, Black Twig, Bon Jouni, Carpark North, Cult of Luna, Danny Cavanagh, Dead Elvis & His One Man Grave, Death Hawks, Disco Ensemble, Ed Harcourt, Flogging Molly, Frank Turner, French Films, Gangzi, Harmaja, Heikki Helastinen, Hero Dishonest, Jarkko Martikainen, Jonna Tervomaa, Joose Keskitalo, Josh T. Pearson, Karnivool, Kiljuvelka 70, Lissie, Mad Juana, Magenta Skycode, Minä ja Ville Ahonen, Mirel Wagner, Moneybrother, Niclas Frisk’s Chinatown, Nouvelle Vague, Olavi Uusivirta, Paleface, Pariisin kevät, Plain Ride, Radiopuhelimet, Regina, Rubik, Ruger Hauer, Sahara Hotnights, Samae Koskinen, Samling, Samuli Putro, Satellite Stories, Scott Kelly (Neurosis), SOEN, The Capital Beat, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Therapy?, The Sounds, The Soundtrack Of Our Lives, The War On Drugs, Tinariwen, Truckfighters, Tuomo Prättälä, Uusi Fantasia feat. Freeman, Von Hertzen Brothers, White Shoes & The Couples Company, Wild Nothing